Boxset + Guest Post: Carlyle Labuschagne & Fire Quill Publishers’ Notorious Minds

Ah, crime novels. What draws us to them?

Maybe it’s because it has the inherent power to bring into evidence the workings of a biased and corrupt system. Maybe it’s the rush of detectives and spies jumping off of bridges, the thrill of being on the scent of a breakthrough, the analysis of the most wretched capabilities of the brain, the horrifying wake-up call to the sickening unfairness of a world that allows the vulnerable to be preyed upon. Maybe our longing for justice, fairness, in real life finds its satisfaction between pages.

Whatever it is about crime novels that calls to you, it’s certainly shared by fans of the genre, and whatever fancy you pick, Fire Quill Publishers has come to meet your needs.

In their expansive boxset of mystery/thriller crime novels, Notorious Minds, to be released on October 13th, 2020, you’re certain to find a journey to keep you awake all night!

As part of their blog tour, I have the pleasure of showcasing a guest post of one of the authors, Carlyle Labuschagne, co-founder of Fire Quill Publishers and contributor to the boxset.

But before we delve deep into Carlyle’s psyche (too dramatic?), let me show you what the boxset has to offer.


What’s In The Box?!

What does it take to commit the perfect crime?

Delve into these dark and twisted tales by twenty USA Today and International Bestselling Authors. No matter what kind of crime story typically catches your imagination, there’s sure to be something for everyone. 

Conspiracies, political plots, and yes, even murder, are just a few of the crimes waiting inside this box set. Discover a narcissistic grandmother running an underground syndicate, or a support group bent on murder…and even a serial killer who turns his victims into fairytale creatures. 

Prepare to delve into an elite killing team who made a mistake, an oil rig filled with secrets ready to explode, and a reporter uncovering a treasonous plot.

Uncover how fatal passion, jealousy, and fear can be to a group of royal marines and learn from a detective who is far from home fighting demons from his past in order to stay alive.

Can you figure out how the police solve a killer’s confession to nine murders that haven’t happened yet? or how a girl that got a heart transplant became the FBI’s number one ally in solving crimes?

This box set is packed with thousands of pages that will hold you on the edge of your seat, crying for answers. Definitely a must for fans of Patterson, Lee, and Grisham. One-click it today!

Author Line up:Judith Lucci – USA TODAY AND WSJ BESTSELLING AUTHOR
Carlyle Labuschagne – USA TODAY
Eva Winters – USA TODAY
Lena Bourne – USA TODAY
Karen M. Bryson – USA TODAY
Inge – Lise Goss – USA Today
Karen Randau – Award Winning Author
Eric J. Gates – Award Winning Author
Deborah Shlian & Linda Reid – International Bestselling Author
Sian B. Claven – Award Winning author
Brandy Nacole
Kelsey Reed
N. Gray
Majanka Verstraete – International Best selling author
Thomas J Eyre
Adam Alexander
DL Jones
K.L Lamar
D.J Grayson
Judith Holstrom

Carlyle and her story

How did you become a writer?

I guess I have always been a writer. I started writing in a journal I received from my aunt on my ninth birthday, and from there I craved writing little tales and creative exercises at school. I recall being quite forceful with my friends in allowing me to write their stories for them.  And once my little sister became of age to receive the same writing exercises, I used to beg her to allow me to do her stories too. From there I wrote poems and songs. 

It is true anyone can become a writer, with enough practice and will one can surely accomplish most things. I have always enjoyed stories – playing them out, listening or reading them; and even writing my own. How I become a professional writer is a whole different question.

During times of waiting on my edits from my debut novel The Broken Destiny I used to write for an online uplifting magazine. Then once my novel was published I become a paid writer. 

How was your journey to finishing that first novel?

My first novel came at a strange time in my life, my boys were young but out of diapers at least. I had a full time job and fell into a reading rut for, well since my kids were born. I was on the cusp of being laid off as our company was not doing so well, things were changing and I spent hours awake at night. It wasn’t until my husband was away for a weekend that I realized I was missing a part of me somewhere. One of my best friends brought over a DVD for me to watch, claiming I would truly madly and desperately fall in love with the world based on a book. I didn’t like vampires at the time and after watching Twilight several times that weekend I needed more of this fantasy world.

Lucky for me, my sister had all the books and I devoured them in no time. Stephanie Meyers made me feel like it was something I could really think about doing. If she could do it, I could at least try.

It took me four weeks to finish my novel between kids and work and once I was laid off I took a year to do my diploma in creative writing then went back to finish my novel with all the thigs I had learnt from the writing school.

I knew from the start The Broken Destiny would be published, and it was and I worked hard, obsessively so to get it going in 2012. Along the way I have changed publishers three times, pulled back two books including my debut a month before release. The journey is different with every book. And in all the times I want to give up, my family, friends, readers and online friends or I’d like to call them family encourage me.

What inspired you to write the novel in this boxset?

I’ve since challenged my writing skills from YA fantasy/SFF to romantic suspense and even supernatural suspense. I had big success with the first two boxsets before Notorious Minds, and Fire Quill Publishers and I decided to carry on with boxsets this year for many reasons.

For the boxset I could write a whole new mystery book, write a follow up to Infallible or Tethered.

Tethered was my latest full length novel, and I saw an entire series of the events that could take place with these characters.  The story is about a girl who receives a heart from a serial killer when the couriers get mixed up, or do they? Once Willow starts receiving visions from the killer and sometimes his victims too, they FBI can finally start working towards finding the Devil’s breath victims’ bodies and stopping the cult about to sacrifice 12 more girls.

So naturally when I found out about the boxset I knew my characters stories were not done!


The Author

Carlyle is a South African USA Today Bestselling,  award wining, and international bestselling author with a flair for mixing genres and adding loads of drama to every story she creates.

For now she is happy to take over the world and convert non Sci-fi believers.

Her goal as an author is to touch people’s lives, and help others love their differences and one another by delivering strong messages of faith, love and hope within every outrageous world she writes about.

Carlyle is the Founder of SAIR Book Festival and  Help build a library in South Africa

Author’s Website


Notorious Minds Pre-order Giveaway

The pre-order period started on March 17th, but you can still pre-order now and receive an amazing pre-order gift (products are digital and printing is at reader’s cost).

Just click the banner to find out more!

Order your boxset at:

amazon bn

itunes kobo

Fire Quill is also giving away a free bundle of novels (valid for the month of April): https://books.bookfunnel.com/crimegiveawayreadingbundle/hm6s58u78w

4 thoughts on “Boxset + Guest Post: Carlyle Labuschagne & Fire Quill Publishers’ Notorious Minds

    1. Arina @ The Paperback Voyager

      Thank you for sharing your story and your kind words, Carlyle! Your description of Tethered was fascinating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.