Review: Aftershock by J J Blacklocke

Aftershock picks up right after the events of the first book in the author’s Tradepoint Saga. The author did amazing work in assuring Aftershock gives enough to be read out of order, but you can read my review to find out more about the events of the first book.

The offbeat sequel to Refuge, Aftershock introduces the reader to the struggles and conflict that comes with loss of culture, and the desperate attempt to reclaim it.

cover
Cover by: Artwork by Tom Edwards Design, design by Steve Beaulieu

Aftershock by J J Blacklocke

ℹ️ On sale Jan 12, 2021 by Aethon Books | Genre: Sci-Fi, Space Opera | Series: #2 in the Tradepoint Saga

Jump to Review

Stranded amid the stars. Fighting for Survival.

Appointed by the Power in the wake of their planet’s destruction, Gredin struggles to lead her nine hundred grief-stricken countrymen, and provide food for their tables when the Vennans’ supplies were only meant to last for four short days on Tradepoint. How can she comfort them and win their trust, with Tetralanna contradicting and undermining her at every turn?

The Vokastra, owners of Tradepoint, want the nine hundred Vennans gone. Now. And the Hesch, a tall, surly, bird-like race, are furious with Gredin for accidentally injuring their leader, Nitikikani. No apology will suffice. They ban the Vennans from their maartza, ignoring the Vennans’ desperate need for supplies.

Something else is afoot, as well – a mysterious malady that threatens to rob the Vennans of the very gyftes that give their lives purpose and their hearts hope. And Gredin, exhausted and disheartened, fails to notice that she is being stalked by a more immediate danger, one determined to drag her down to ruin.

Or to her death.

The Vennans are back! Join them in AFTERSHOCK, Book 2 of The Tradepoint Saga, a space opera featuring high adventure, mortal stakes, and multiple sentient species. Perfect for fans of CJ Cherryh, Arkady Martine, Wen Spencer, and Star Trek: Picard.

Blurb

Review

(My warm thanks to the author for the review copy of this book. My review remains honest and my own opinion.)

JJ Blacklocke’s Aftershock is aptly named after the final events of the first book in this trilogy. What happens when everything you’ve ever known is abruptly taken from you? How do you balance the inevitable resolution of leadership with empathy and understanding? How do you decide what must be done in unprecedented times?

Aftershock explores answers to these questions and more, in a story made fascinating by its focus on the cultural and social aspects of maintaining tradition while rebuilding society. 

Now that the Vennans are stranded on Tradepoint, they will have to adjust to increasingly new realities, change the context of their very cultural traditions, and adapt to the loss of everything they have ever known. 

With a population of slightly over nine hundred, and stuck on a merchant space station where their native resources are slowly dwindling, they must venture the void to find a new home and rebuild their world anew. But during the events of Aftershock, the Vennan’s main concern is finding a way to survive until their rotation allotment on the station of Tradepoint ends. No easy task for a species so connected to their nature, and so caught unawares by the shocking disappearance of their planet.

Even more so, the very resources that provided the Vennans with a place on the station are now gone with Venna. Now they must satisfy supply and demand, both from their species as well as all others’ on the station, especially the geddel crystals, an energy source so-coveted by the Prett, overseers of Tradepoint.

Aftershock delves deeper into trade politics, and there are a lot more scenes where we see the different alien species interact and discuss and exchange their wares, from baskets to cloths, strange grains to alien popcorns. Heavy-drinker Koala-like bipeds, bird folk, and purple-skinned humanoids, it’s fascinating to see how each species differs and how our POV characters must adapt their perception and demeanour with each encounter. 

Many different POV characters join the fold, most already known to us as they featured in the first book.

We have Keegan, the archivist, cataloger, and historian; Gredin, who is something of an HR, a coordinator and a spokesperson; Burlon, who handles trade business and relationships with an expert hand; Miri, who cares for the kitchen, the food supplies, and as such, is the preserver of that specific part of Vennan culture and helps keep morale up; and Sill, who stores everyone’s memories through the use of her gyfte, and as such, plays a major role in maintaining tradition and culture. 

All of them seem to embody the foundations of what makes a culture and a society, and it’s really interesting to see how even when they differ so greatly, they must work in tandem to build basically something from almost nothing. 

Their interactions often led to long exposures of world and plot-building via dialogue interspersed by the actual actions of the characters. In that, it has much the same feeling as an epistolary novel (although not written like one), in that the greater part of the development is witnessed through the conversations between Gredin and her close council.

The story gets you involved by cleverly introducing challenges within the Vennans’s sphere alongside interactions between the different alien species. The threat of the Vennans’s eminent vanishing implies a broken link that will damage an entire chain; the grand ecosystem of Tradepoint unable to survive without their energy supplies.

When one thinks of space opera, the first thing that comes to mind, perhaps, is large-scale conflict involving the fate of worlds or even the universe. But Aftershock adds a nice change of pace to the genre, in that its main concern is small-scale conflict, inner and interpersonal both, each with its own high-stakes consequences. 

Aftershock is a vivid look at the inner workings of the politics and conflicts of (re)building a society. With an ensemble of alien species interacting, this off-beat space opera deals in intergalactic trade, anthropology, and identity. It introduces small-scale conflict with high-stakes consequences, dissecting the politics of preserving tradition and culture in the direst of times.

Perfect for readers who love the social side of sci-fi and with a startling ending made to seduce us onto the next book of the series…

Possible trigger warnings:Violence, blood

Buy at: Amazon


Connect with the author

JJ blacklocke locket logo

JJ Blacklocke is the author of REFUGE (11/10/20), AFTERSHOCK (1/12/21), and THE BEREFT (4/13/21), the first three volumes of THE TRADEPOINT SAGA, a science fiction series.

Connect with J J Blacklocke

Website: https://jjblacklocke.com/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: